Olive Oil Fig Cake

Standard

Sometimes, when you have somewhat of a crappy week, not even for any real good reason, it’s nice to have some help along the way. Sometimes you need a good book, a cozy nap on the couch with a warm quilt and your kitten, or a slice of this olive oil fig cake. I’ll take all of the above.

I saw this recipe that Tracy (Shutterbean) posted last week via Instagram and instantly began drooling. My original plan was to make a loaf of pumpkin bread that day, but that ended up being pushed aside (sorry pumpkin, I still love you!). Figs. Almond. Citrus. Olive oil. YUM. YES. PLEASE.

The flavors are wonderful. Lemon and orange zest, ground almond flour, extra virgin olive oil, and succulent figs roasted in honey on top? Hellomylifehaschanged. I even swapped in a bit of lavender sugar for a bit of the regular granulated kind. It reminded me of a “healthier” version of pound cake upgraded to autumn-status. I urge you to make this while fresh figs are still in season. You will not regret it.

Olive Oil Fig Cake

Makes about 6-8 slices

recipe adapted from Tracy Shutterbean & Jamie Oliver Magazine

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup ground almonds
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 cup sugar plus 1/2 cup lavender sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • grated zest of 1 lemon
  • grated zest and juice of 1 orange (original recipe called for 2)
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 5-6 figs, quartered
  • 2-3 tablespoons honey

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 9×5 loaf pan with cooking spray and set aside. Place the flour, ground almonds, and baking powder in a bowl and mix together.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the sugar and eggs until fluffy. Add the citrus zest and juice, then stir in the olive oil and milk. Gently fold in the flour mixture then pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 40 minutes.

Push the figs into the top of the loaf. Drizzle with the honey and bake for another 30-40 minutes, or until the top is caramelized and a toothpick comes out clean. Cool and enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. I totally want to try this! I love figs. There are a bunch of trees in my neighborhood and come every August it’s like a fig feast! Guess, I know what I’ll be doing with them next year. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Leave a comment