Double Peanut Butter M&M Cookies

Standard

My stepmom is coming to visit Portland tomorrow (for the first time!) and I wanted to do or make something a little extra to make her stay even more welcoming and cozy: double peanut butter m&m cookies.

There were always cookies in the cookie jar growing up with her in the house I lived in for 18 years. It was a serious shame and deprivation to our sweet tooth(s) to run out of homemade oatmeal chocolate chip or raisin cookies. There was always a few sticks of butter sitting out on the counter to soften every few weeks. I knew it was that time. Cookie baking time.

The first thing I baked in my new apartment were these chocolate chip cookies aka. the ONLY chocolate chip cookie recipe you will ever need. I’m serious. Nothing beats those guys. And who introduced me to that recipe? My stepmother.

The inspiration for this batch came from picking up a package of autumn colored peanut butter filled m&m’s last week in the Halloween candy section. I just knew cookies were to be had. For the last several days, I toyed around with what flavored dough base I wanted to pair with them. At first I was going to go for chocolate, but I figured a light peanut butter flavor would be best.

So here’s to carrying on a cookie baking tradition into the new(est) Antolini household. Yep, that’s me!

Double Peanut Butter M&M Cookies

Makes 2 dozen cookies

Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup creamy organic peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla bourbon extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cups peanut butter filled M&Ms
  1. In a large bowl, using a hand-held mixer or stand mixer with paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars together on medium speed.  Mix in the peanut butter, egg, and vanilla. Slowly mix in the baking soda, salt and flour. Do not overmix.  Fold in the M&Ms with a wooden spoon.  Chill the dough for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 350° F. Drop chilled dough by tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 8-9 minutes.  Cookies will be soft, slightly browned and may appear undone.  They will firm up as they cool.
  3. Allow to cool completely. Enjoy!

P.S. Here’s a little list of (food) places I have jotted down I’d like to take her:

Portland Soup Co. for yummy artisanal sandwiches and soups

-Toro Bravo, because I have heard such great things and have yet to go there!

-Broder (because…duh)

-The Doug Fir for drinks, snooze at the Jupiter one night

Noble Rot, because the view is supposed to be amazing, and their dinner menu doesn’t look too shabby either

-Shut Up & Eat for lunch, because I’ve heard great things and have yet to try it (4.5 stars on Yelp, whaaaat?!)

La Provence for breakfast/lunch, if not, just to drool over their pastries and macarons

Verde Cocina for dinner, because I’m madly in love with their fresh pile of veggies I’ve had for their breakfasts and lunches at the farmers market and at their cafe

Bakery Bar, for the best scones in the world

Crema, my favorite go-to

Stumptown for lattes (her favorite)

-Voodoo (yes, it has to be done)

Bollywood Theater, because it’s one of the best

-Pix, even though their customer service can suck it

-Possible dinner places: Ned Ludd, Woodsman Tavern, or the 2nd Story… still haven’t been to any of those!

Besides food, other places to go:

-NW 21st & 23rd Ave.

-The Pearl + Powell’s

-Sellwood for antiques

-Hawthorne

-A movie at one of the wallet-friendly beer theaters

-Hike in Forest Park

-Laurelhurst Park

-Alberta + Mississippi

I’ll be back in a few days with a photo recap!

4 responses »

  1. Mmm these look super delicious! I lovee peanut butter and will definitely make these. Thinking about adding chocolate chips as well…or perhaps plain M&Ms to keep with the theme?

  2. Pingback: Bake with Your Leftover Halloween Candy! | Yummly

Leave a comment