Fennel & Mustard Frittata Gratin, plus other nice things

Standard
Hi, my name is Kylie and I am addicted to cookbooks.
Scored all of these for $35 today.
Thank you, Logo’s, for your “5 dollar & under cookbook sale” that never ends.
(Yes, I am addicted. Amazon cookbook wish list is also grossly growing by the minute…)

Today was pretty rad. One of those rad days where the sun is shining, it’s not too hot and not too cold, and you roll the window down and hang your left arm out the window as you’re driving to feel the air run between your fingers. And you feel pretty badass blasting some new awesome music (ahem, Decemberists). It was so blissfully pleasant out that standing in the express line at Trader Joe’s for 20 minutes just to buy a box of Yogi ginger tea didn’t bother me at all.
So yeah, purchased the new Decemberist’s album that came out today, The King Is Dead. It’s pretty frickin’ rad. In addition to The Head and the Heart, Yeasayer live at Ancienne Belgigue.
Currently streaming Broken Social Scene live playing on YouTube from NY. I wouldn’t mind streaming live shows from my bedroom more often. This is quite nice and convenient, actually. Not to mention free.
Umm, yeah. Lots of good stuff.
Ate some pretty awesome food, too.
So awesome that I wanna tell you about all of it:
Invented a new smoothie creation consisting of…
-1 cup almond milk
-1/2 avocado
-1 frozen banana
-handful frozen blackberries
-1/2 cup carob powder
-1 chopped date
Blend that shit up and savor the goodness.
Also made some vegan gluten free waffles. Savory butternut squash gluten free waffles. Last night I premade the savory squash part (includes onions, curry powder, chutney), and incorporated it into the batter with rice flour, spelt flour, garam masala, and cayenne. Served it as a late brunch/lunch, topped with a few scoops of cottage cheese, and some left over tempeh bell pepper, sweet potato and onion stir-fry fajita mix. Topped it all off with some homemade jamaican banana jam and a bit of maple syrup. Heck yes.
Dinner? Roasted a spaghetti squash (never doing the hot water bath steam EVER again… roasting is the answer to EVERYTHING), sauteed some crimini mushrooms in a bit of ghee and dry white wine (one of the most divine smells ever created), added in some red curly kale, and cooked that for a few minutes. Then, I had a few bulbs of fennel that needed to be used so I referred to my handy-dandy collection of vegetable garden cookbooks, and made a fennel and mustard frittata/gratin. The recipe called for puff pastry, but alas, none was on hand, so I made it my own by omitting it and it was frickin’ delicious regardless. For the mustard, I used a bit of my homemade apricot bourbon mustard that I made for the holidays. And I topped it all off with a bit of lemon salt, a squeeze of a lemon, and a few sprinkles of bread crumbs. See recipe toward the end.
So I ate all of that together with some leftover savory mashed butternut squash. Then I topped the spaghetti squash with the kale and mushrooms, a few shavings of grana padano and a bit of goat cheese, and had a bit of this fennel gratin on the side. Everything was very complimentary and went perfectly together. Not to mention frickin’ delicious. And vegetarian. Perfect winter dinner if I do say so myself.
Fennel and Mustard Frittata/Gratin Bake
Serves 4
3 fennel bulbs
4 Tbsp ghee
5 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
3 Tbsp mild grain mustard
s&p
freshly ground nutmeg (optional)
bread crumbs, for topping (optional)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare an 8′ square pan or round baking dish of any sort you’d think would be pretty to bake it in.
Cut off the hard base of the fennel and remove any damaged parts. Cut the fennel into strips. Melt the ghee in a pan, add the fennel, cover with a lid, and cook for 12-15 minutes.
Break the eggs into a mixing bowl. Add the sour cream, and beat to combine. Add salt and pepper to taste, the curry powder and mustard, and mix well.
Arrange the fennel in the bottom of the tart, pour over the sauce, and place in the oven for 30-35 minutes.
I’ve also been enjoying this Weizen immensely with a nice slice of lemon.
Ok bye.
One response »

  1. oh, yum! I roasted fennel today and intended to do a post about a roasted fennel salad, but then I ate most of the fennel off the pan before I could make the salad! And I had cut up THREE bulbs! I will definitely try this frittata.

Leave a Reply

