Butternut Squash Tarte Tatin

Standard
butternut squash tarte tatin.
Holy mother of God, this is freakin’ incredible. I might even dare to say it’s quite possibly the best dessert I have made all year (and I’m allowed to say that being that there are only 2 weeks (!!!) left). Um, yeah. Thank you Matt Bites for making my life a thousand times better by inventing this heavenly creation of butternut squash goodness. My life is now complete.
And you could say I’m biased, as butternut squash is probably, by far, one of my top 5 favorite foods. But others can attest. It was a hit at a Christmas dinner party potluck last evening. Some went back for seconds. We had to restrain ourselves to make sure everyone had their equal share. After my first bite, I honestly wanted to run away with the rest of it and my plate and have it all for myself. No. I would never do that…
The smell of this baking in the oven almost killed me. And almost didn’t make it to the party in one peace. Roasted butternut squash with a caramel cinnamon nutmeg butter sauce on top of a buttery, flaky pastry crust. This was my first time working with puff pastry! I was scared for so long (just like the phyllo dough) but it wasn’t bad at all. In fact, this may quite possibly be the easiest dessert I have ever made. You just have to roast the squash before hand, melt some butter and sugar in a pan, add the spices, put it all in a square pan, and place the puff pastry square on top of it. And then you invert it like an upside-down pineapple cake once it’s done. SO SIMPLE. I had never made a “tarte tatin” before and this surely won’t be the last. It kind of reminded me of a caramelized, crisp cinnamon roll but better. Wayyyyyy wayyyyy better.
I’m in love.
Butternut Squash Tarte Tatin
Serves 8, apparently
Recipe from Matt Bites (thank you!)

4 cups butternut squash cut into 1-inch cubes

1–2 tablespoons canola oil

a pinch of salt

¼ cup butter

¾ cup sugar

¼ tsp. cinnamon

a dash of nutmeg

1 (about 8-oz) sheet of frozen puff pastry, thawedFor the squash: heat oven to 400˚F. Toss the squash cubes in 1–2 tablespoons of canola oil, sprinkle with a pinch of salt and roast until tender, about 30-35 minutes, turning once during baking to insure even cooking and browning. Remove from the oven and set aside to cool while you make the caramel.

With the oven still at 400˚F, move the oven rack to the top position.

Melt butter over medium heat in a nonstick skillet, stir in sugar and cook until golden brown, about 6 to 8 minutes, swirling skillet often. Stir in cinnamon and nutmeg; pour caramel into an 8-inch by 8-inch baking pan. Place roasted squash over caramel. Unfold the puff pastry over the squash and fold any excess pastry down the sides of the pan and under. Prick the pastry with a fork all over and place in already hot oven for 30 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes, then invert onto a serving plate, being careful not to burn yourself. It’s hot! Cut and serve. I imagine it would be fantastic served alongside some vanilla bean ice cream and/or some whipped cream. But hey, I don’t want you to piss your pants. That’s your decision.

3 responses »

  1. I AM SO GLAD YOU ENJOYED IT! You know, we've been serving this for the past month at dinner parties, during thanksgiving, and just cuz, and it always disappears. We had no idea how it'd work or be received when we made it, I'm so so so happy you enjoy it as much as we do. Thank you for posting this!

  2. this was in the top 5 most delicious desserts i've ever tasted… and i ate 4 slices at the party! yum! thanks for sharing it, it's hard not to keep all to yourself!

Leave a Reply

