Cake Decorating 101

Standard
I wish I had more time in this world to blog! Life has been so full and so busy lately.
In addition to Ayurveda school, Spanish, Eastern Philosophy, etc, I started a cake decorating class last week! In fact, I just got back about an hour ago after being there for four hours learning how to frost a cake (yes, it’s a lot harder than you’d think), and practicing simple icing decorations and techniques. It’s only an 8 week class (just 6 left to go!) but I’ll be learning how to work with fondant, colors, writing, piped flowers, and for the final I have to draw out a cake and create it! I have to start planning and scheming now… Anyway, it’s pretty cool, the hardest part about it is having consistency. Consistency is key. Applying the right amount of pressure with the knife and squeezing out the frosting evenly. It’s a lot harder than it sounds and looks but practice will help over time. Definitely makes you have so much more appreciation for “simple” cakes that you can pick up at the bakery. Our awesome teacher has been a local baker here for the past (almost) 40 years! She started out at Staff of Life back in the day, and went on to work at Gayle’s and The Buttery. So I’m learning from the best of the best. She’s a total inspiration! Check out her blog!
Right now for practice, we are using styrofoam and cardboard cakes.
It’s a trick!
You don’t want to eat the frosting either. It’s pretty gross.
Just shortening and sugar. Yuck!

Not too shabby for my first try. I need a lot more practice. And patience. My lord.
Anyway, I’m going to try to keep this updated with what I’m doing in class. I’ll see how time permits!
Ahh, there is so much to talk about… as for now, I’m going to bed.
Leave a Reply

