Autumn Equinox

Standard
Happy first day of Fall! I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty stoked.
This is the moment when day (light) is equal to night (dark) and balance is created between them.
I’m still formulating my plan on how I will celebrate one of my favorite days of the year, but so far I know I plan to:
– spend some time in the garden, do some watering
-pick some fresh figs from my grandmother’s tree
-clean my room
-meditate extra deeply
-bake or roast something with squash involved
-possibly go to Target for some autumn-themed decor
-go to the pumpkin patch this weekend
What about you? What are some of your favorite things about Fall and how do you celebrate?
4 responses »

  1. I really like the description of day being equal to night, and the balance between them. I hadn't thought of the equinox like that, but it makes so much sense. I have an old college friend opening a new vegan bakery today in Portland, so I may stop by for a treat post-work to celebrate his success & this lovely day of balance (what a great day to start a new business, huh?). Since it'll be high-90's today (not so fall-like!), I may try their vegan soft-serve. I'll definitely be doing a pumpkin patch visit – maybe not till Oct though. The first butternut squash has not been cooked in my house yet, so that is always symbolic of fall to me. Oh, and apple crisp! Other fall to-dos: boots with skirts, colorful tights, light scarfs, hot apple cider, good smelling candles, and pumpkin lattes. Oh and mushroom barley soup.

  2. It's called Back to Eden, at NE 22nd/Alberta. I didn't make it the other day as they close at 6pm (and I work downtown)… but hope to either this evening if they're open late for Last Thursday (art walk) or tomorrow as I have the day off, yeah !!http://backtoedenbakery.blogspot.com/I did purchase apples, pears, and some delicata squash at the farmer's market this week, so that felt fall 🙂

Leave a Reply

