Tagged!

Standard

A quick little preview of my room lately… owl bonanza to the max thanks to my fantastic Aunt that hunts down anything and everything owl related. I need a bigger room!

Lovely and inspiring Andrea from Cider & Fawn tagged me with a few questions! So here goes…

What is your current obsession?
Hah, um, OWLS! My obsession grows even more every day. I am seriously turning into an owl lady. I usually represent an owl on myself or in some form everyday. Also, Iron & Wine’s cover of “Love Vigilantes” has been on repeat on my iPod everyday. And Neko Case. I’m obsessed with her voice. And of course I’m always obsessed with trees, faux wood grain patterns on ANYTHING, peanut butter… I could go on for days.

What is your weirdest obsession ?
Hmm… weird? Pumpkins and peanut butter? I don’t know if that’s that weird though. To me it’s not. Those are two of the most amazing foods! I seriously eat peanut butter in some form or another every day. I can’t get enough… I don’t know I pretty much am obsessed with anything and everything related that I post on this blog. 

What are you wearing today ?
A new outfit (well, used/recycled clothing) from Crossroads! A lovely dark forest green scoop neck tank top by Velvet, brownish straight-legged Seven jeans, an owl belt, my favorite SmartWool socks, bird earrings, my favorite ring, and of course underwearssssssss. 

What’s for dinner ?
Not sure yet! Yummy stuff! Bread, tomato basil mozzarella stacks, cheese jam and crackers! 

What would you eat for your last meal ?
Hmm… everything that I’ve had to eat in this past week! I really love the truffle mac n’ cheese they make at the Red and their large salad with grilled salmon that incorporates beets, walnuts, asparagus, carrots, bell peppers, dates, parmesan cheese, avocado, and more all into one dish! IT’S INCREDIBLE. And today I had a great mediterranean salad that consisted of spinach, grilled eggplant, zucchini, peppers, onion, with a grilled chicken kabob and walnut pomegranate sauce on the side. With flatbread! AMAZING. And of course I’d love a sweet potato, maybe a peanut butter and strawberry or banana sandwich on whole wheat bread with a glass of soymilk… this is probably the hardest question to answer on earth! 

What’s the last thing you bought ?
Besides the amazing lunch I mentioned above (thank you textbook buybacks!), really expensive concealer and brushes :/ And hand sanitizer wipes. 

What are you listening to right now ?
Iron and Wine on Pandora! But besides that, lately it’s been a lot of the same: M. Ward, Neko Case, Fleet Foxes, White Antelope (Robin’s side band), Lucinda Williams, Jenny Lewis, Vetiver, Blitzen Trapper, Grizzly Bear, new Camera Obscura and Conor Oberst. 

What is your favorite ice-cream flavour ?
Mmmmmmmmmmm anything with peanut butter duh! I really do love just plain old vanilla bean though. It goes with everything. And Marianne’s mint oreo! And mocha almond fudge! And pistachio cardamom! I think that about does it…

What do you think of the person who tagged you ?

She has the cutest, most amazing blog ever. I wish I was as talented of an artist as her! I’m obsessed with her drawings! She incorporates all of her loves into her blog (like I do) very beautifully. She is cuteness to the max 🙂

If you could have a house totally paid for, fully furnished anywhere in the world, where would you like it to be ?
Oh jeeze… well I’m going to Portland soon and I’m thinking that I will fall in love so maybe there! Either that or Seattle. Maybe SF. I’d love to live in a prefab house. But as much as I love the city, I’d also love a secluded little woodsy cottage house out in Montana or somewhere with a similar country feel. 

If you could go anywhere in the world for the next hour, where would you go ?
Italy!

Which language do you want to learn ?
Italian! But after I brush up on my Spanish. I need to take a few years of Espanol before that…

What’s your favorite quote (for now) ?
“Aloneness is a flower, a lotus blooming in your heart.

Aloneness is positive, aloneness is health.
It is the joy of being yourself.
It is the joy of having your own space.
Meditation means: bliss in being alone.
One is really alive when one has been capable of it,
when there is no dependence anymore on anybody,
on any situation, on any condition.” -Osho
I LOVE THIS.

What is your favorite colour ?
Mustard yellow, any shade of green, browns, dark magenta reds. All earthy colors. 

Who are your favourite (fictional or not) heroes ?
The Buddha. My stepmom. Wangari Maathai. George. The lovely and amazing people I encounter on a day to day basis that enrich my life.

What is one of your favorite daily/weekly rituals ?
Meditating. Going for long runs. Showering every morning? 

If you had $100 now, what would you spend it on ?
Toward the custom owl skirt that I just paid for the other day… or tickets to see Sonic Youth in August.

Favourite designer ?
Not one in particular but pretty much anything and everything from Anthropologie.

Do you admire any one’s style ?
A lot of people. I can’t think of any one in particular. Actually, Joan Holloway from Mad Men. (ie. below)

Describe your personal style ?
Comfortable, earthy, vintage-y, whatever inspires me? 

What are you going to do after this ?
Celebrate the beginning of summerrrrrr! Two years of college down!

What are your favourite films ?
Oh jeeze, well, an all time favorite is School of Rock (I’m obsessed with Jack Black), anything with Scarlett Johansson (Lost In Translation), Darjeeling Limited, Milk, White Oleander, Eternal Sunshine, Walk The Line.

What’s your favourite fruit ?
Mango, strawberries, bananas! Avocados! Pink lady apples. Mmmm pretty much every fruit. 

What inspires you ?
Nature, blogs, artwork, clothing, decor, magazines, inspiring people. 

What is on the walls in your bedroom ?
Prints of owls, personal black and white photographs, a nest, Owl & The Pussycat Calendar, Fleet Foxes poster, fruit calendar, tree decals… I have so much shit on my walls.

Your favorite book ?
Oh man. Well, White Oleander changed my life. Love love LOVE that book. But I really also love anything by Murakami. So hard to choose! A New Earth also changed my life. 

Do you collect something ?
Haha, many things! Anything bird or owl related, cookbooks, jewelry, chocolate bars (I have a huge stack right now I need to go through!), yeah pretty much anything I love I collect. 

What is one of your pet peeves ?
Dust. 

***

So, if you’d like to play along friends (no pressure) I tag :
Summer from DesignIsMine

Alicia from Bread + Honey
Kristina from the CPB Gallery
Tracy from Shutterbean
Sophia from The Carnal Vegan
and anyone else who wants to participate!
The rules :
1. Respond and rework ; answer the questions on your blog, replace one question that you dislike with a question of your invention or add one more question of your own.
2. Tag eight other people.

Here are a few pictures of a wonderful chocolate peanut butter cupcake I devoured from The Buttery a few weeks ago. I took a million pictures of it because, seriously, look at how pretty it is! Oh Buttery, how you inspire me…


5 responses »

  1. I just found your blog through a link. I have got some owl stuff that you might be interested in. Just e-mail me and I can let you know what I have.

Leave a Reply

