Vegan Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (Plus a few things I’m loving…)

Standard

These brownies were super chewy, amazing, flavorful, peanut buttery, chocolatey, everything I needed combined into one, and vegan. Make them. That’s all I’m going to say. 

PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE SWIRL BROWNIES 

(I changed the original recipe a bit so here it is with adjustments…)

– 1/2 cup smooth natural peanut butter
– 1/3 cup Earth Balance
– 1 cup sugar
– 1/4 cup vegan brown sugar
– 1/2 cup mashed banana
– 1 cup white whole wheat flour
– 1-1/2 teaspoon baking powder
– 1/4 teaspoon coarse kosher salt
– 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
– 1/2 to 3/4 cup chocolate chips
– 3 tablespoons Earth Balance

Method…
1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2.) Cream together the peanut butter and butter substitute.
3.) Add the sugars and continue creaming.
4.) Add the mashed banana & 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and beat until fluffy.
5.) Add the flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, and salt.
6.) Fold in the vanilla. Pour into a lightly greased, 9″ square pan.
7.) In a small saucepan, melt the chocolate chips and 3 tablespoons butter substitute.
8.) Pour desired amount into the middle of the brownie batter and swirl around with a knife.
9.) Bake for approx. 25 minutes. If the chocolate begins to burn at all, lightly cover with some tin foil. Brownies are finished when a toothpick inserted into them comes out (semi)clean. They’re nice when still slightly doughy and dense. 
On an entirely different note, I wanted to share some great things I’ve found on TheKitchn.com the past few days. I’m sure most of you are familiar with the site, but I wanted to post the links to a few posts I thought were interesting and inspiring. Oh The Kitchn, how I love thee… 
-these super easy and yummy looking milk & honey peanut butter balls 
-how food magazines are holding up in the current economy
-this fig cocoa jam paired with goat cheese and crackers sounds insane (Ficoco found here)
-five tips for plating food
-the differences between soy, almond, and rice milks
-no-flour, no-butter peanut butter cookies
-check out these gorgeous bird sugar cookies, an Easter specialty from Eleni’s (although it doesn’t look like these guys are still available… shucks) I wish I had the talent to know how to make them!
-but instead, to make up for my lack of creative ability, I will attempt to make these Martha Stewart Bird’s Nest cookies
Now those are too freakin’ cute for words…
this recipe for a quince and fig cobbler! I can’t confidently say I’ve ever tried a quince before…I’ve seen quince jam? But I don’t know where I can buy them. Anyway, if I do come across them at some point in my life, I will be sure to make this cobber…
braised goat shanks with prune, shallot, and brandy reduction. I’m not so sure how I feel about the goat shanks (let alone being able to find them? Whole Foods?), but the sauce! The sauce alone sounds mind blowing. Maybe I’d try it with chicken instead.
eggplant fries! I’ve never deep-fried before, so maybe I’d roast them instead. These look so delicious though…
General Mills retro cereal boxes! I saw them at Target once and was THIS CLOSE to buying a box of Lucky Charms but I had restraint. I am such a sucker for old-fashioned packaging…

I also discovered this great dishwear/ceramic/dinnerwear store last night, Fishs Eddy, and already have some things in my shopping cart. I can’t stop myself from the great deals. Check out this cake stand!!! Uh, HELLO?!? Yeah, my thoughts exactly…
Also, check out these great porcelain light fixtures by Isabelle Sicart. I’m a sucker for branches…
That’s all for now!
4 responses »

  1. Hi, I noticed you include quite a few vegan recipes on your site but you aren’t exclusively a vegan. This intrigues me. If you feel open to, I’d love to know more about what your take on your diet is. Thanks!

  2. hey baking bird!I haven’t been by in a little while… looks like there are some good posts to catch up on! Thanks for the pb brownie recipe… sounds totally yum. I still have a few frozen brownies in my freezer, so I’ll have to wait. Those bird cookies are AMAZING. wow. Taking it to a whole new level!You can buy quince at the farmers market in the fall. My cousin has a quince tree, and so this year I did TONS of quince things – for the first time: preserved quince, quince “butter”, quince jelly, apple-quince phyllo cups… it’s a very interesting fruit to work with!

Leave a Reply

