The Stuffed Pumpkin!

Standard


Ok guys, I have been meaning to talk about this one for almost TWO MONTHS now. Two months aka. Thanksgiving time. I’ve seriously been slacking! Anyhow, I’d been wanting to make this for so long ever since I’d seen it on Dorie Greenspan’s website.  The idea is completely fantastic! I wish I’d thought of it before. A tenderly baked sugar pie pumpkin stuffed with oooey-gooey yummy cheeses, bread, garlic, and herbs? Sign me up! I made this as an appetizer, and for leftovers it easily turned into a great meal with a nice blob of cranberry sauce (or any other kind of jam… pumpkin butter would also be great!) on the side and some crackers. All in all, it just took a few simple ingredients to come together into one, and I realized it was pretty darn simple to make. It took approximately 1 hour or so to bake until the flesh turned soft (with the stem/lid on), and then I removed the top and let the cheeses and bread brown slightly before I took it out of the oven. And man, did that thing retain its temperature! It was warm for the rest of the evening. Seriously, best thing ever. I about died and went to heaven with every bite I took. I either dug right into it with a fork, or scooped it out with other chunks of bread or a cracker. I’ll definitely be making this more often–experimenting and adding in different cheeses, maybe some bacon, chives, who knows. It makes me wish sugar pie pumpkins were available year round. It’s a great cold-winter meal that you could pair well with a nice green salad. MAKE THIS. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!

(P.S. My stepmom gave me a new vintage apron to bake in, and I later spotted the same exact on in the Secret Life of Bees movie! Look for it–it’s hanging in the kitchen. It was quite exciting… just had to share…)

The Really Awesome Cheesy Gooey Stuffed Pumpkin
(Makes 2 generous or 4 genteel servings)
1 pumpkin, about 2 1/2 to 3 pounds

4 ounces stale bread (I used campagnon), sliced thin, then cut into 1/2-inch chunks

4 ounces cheese, such as Gruyere, Swiss, Blue, Cheddar or a combination, cut into 1/2-inch chunks (I used rosemary manchego, muenster, apricot stilton, gorgonzola, and pumpkin seed cheese)

2-4 cloves garlic (to taste), peeled, germ removed and coarsely chopped

About 1/2 cup heavy cream (enough to make the bread a little soaked)

Freshly grated nutmeg

Salt and freshly ground black pepper


A few sprigs of thyme, rosemary, and/or sage

Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Either line a baking sheet with parchment or a silicone baking mat or find a Dutch oven that’s the same diameter as the pumpkin. (If you bake the pumpkin in a casserole, it will keep its shape, but it will also stick to the casserole, so you’ll have to serve it from the pot, which is a rustic, appealingly homey way to serve it. If you bake it on a sheet, you can present it free-standing, if it doesn’t collapse in the oven. I was lucky this time, but when I make it again tonight with a larger pumpkin, I’m not going to push my luck – I’m going to put it in a Dutch oven.)

Using a very sturdy knife, cut a cap off the top of the pumpkin. This isn’t an easy job – I went around the top of the pumpkin with my knife at a 45-degree angle to get a nice size cap. Clear away any seeds and strings from the cap and hold it aside while you scoop out the seeds and filaments inside the pumpkin. (Hold onto this goop — you can separate the seeds from the filaments and roast them.) Season the inside of the pumpkin with salt and pepper and put it on the sheet or in the casserole.

Now you have a choice, you can either toss the bread, cheese and garlic together in a bowl, then pack it into the pumpkin, or you can alternate layers of bread and cheese and scatter the garlic here and there. (I mixed everything together.) Either way, the filling should go into the pumpkin and fill it well. You might have a little too much filling or you might need to add to it — it’s hard to give exact amounts. Season the cream with salt, pepper and several gratings of fresh nutmeg and pour the cream into the pumpkin. Again, you might have too much or too little. You don’t want the ingredients to swim in cream, but you do want to get a feeling that they’re moistened.

Put the cap back in place and bake the pumpkin for about 2 hours — check after 90 minutes — or until everything inside the pumpkin is bubbly and the flesh of the pumpkin is tender enough to be pierced easily with the tip of a knife. I removed the cap during the last 20 minutes or so of baking so that the top could brown.

6 responses »

  1. Though I’ve never attempted it myself, I have been the lucky guest at a lunch where a stuffed pumpkin was served. A heavenly vegetarian stew baked inside of it. It was awesome, plus just so spectacular looking when brought to the table. Yours looks like the perfect winter treat.

  2. hi kylie, like i told you, i tried this at christmas, and it was amazing. i sauteed onions and garlic first, and added that to my croutons, added gorgonzola, cubed cheddar and added heavy cream until moist. could be modified in many ways. easy, easy, easy, & delicious. my kind of meal. Claire

  3. I saw this on Dorie Greenspan’s site too and was oh so curious about it. What a fantastic idea. It makes me think you can bake anything in a pumpkin, just treating it like a little dutch oven. I’ll definitely have to make this!

  4. If you are interested in buying a designer handbag thomas sabo charm club anhänger you’ll need to visit a retailer who sells them. thomas sabo engelsflügel These are generally specialty boutiques. thomas sabo armband Another venue for purchasing designer ladies handbags anhänger kette is from online retailers. There are many websites angebote thomas sabo ohrschmuck that sell brand name designer ladies handbags and will ship ohrringe creolen them right to your door. This often affords the consumer angebote thomas sabo uhren the biggest selection and it also allows a chance to Armband mit Anhänger compare prices. It’s important to be careful when purchasing a quality thomas sabo shop designer bag in this way because you’ll want to be wary of imitations.

  5. Pingback: Random Old Photographs « The Baking Bird

Leave a Reply

