Vegan Pistachio Rosewater Cardamom Cake

Standard

Pretty much all I can say is that this is one of the best cakes I’ve ever made. Hands down. It’s pretty, elegant, girly, moist, lightly spiced, nutty, flowery… I could go on and on. The frosting came out PERFECTLY, better than any other time I had made it. No problems what so ever. For a while I was a little skeptical about making this cake (or cupcakes) because it sounded so odd. Rosewater? The ingredient that I enjoy most in my night cream, facial toner, and other hygienic products? I wasn’t sure how I would like the taste. But, as always, just like other liquids and alcohols that one incorporates into baking, it cooks off and gives it the greatest flavor. This would go so, so well with an Indian or Persian feast of some sort, but a mug full of spicy chai and some soy milk on the side works just as well. I made this for a co-worker of mine’s 17th birthday, which she really enjoyed, and that made me the happiest. I’m telling you, all I want to do is bake mini birthday cakes! All the time! Well, at least most of the time. I don’t think I would enjoy it as much if it were my job. That’s why it’s on the side…



Vegan Pistachio Rosewater Cardamom Cake with Buttercream Frosting

Adapted from VCTOTW

Ingredients:
1/2 cup vanilla soy yogurt
2/3 cup soy milk
1/3 cup canola oil
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 to 2 tablespoons rosewater
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
Generous pinch of cardamom
1/3 cup finely chopped pistachios, lightly toasted if desired
1/2 cup more of finely chopped pistachios, for decoration, if desired
1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly grease two 6-inch cake pans.
2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together yogurt, soy milk, oil, sugar, and rosewater. Sift in flour, cornstarch, baking soda, baking powder, cardamom and salt. Mix until relatively smooth. Fold in pistachios. Fill cake pans about half way, until both are even. Bake 25-28 minutes (time varies). Transfer to a cooling rack and let cool completely before inverting and frosting.
For the Fluffy Buttercream Rosewater Frosting (I halved the original recipe):
1/4 cup nonhydrogenated shortening
1/4 cup nonhydrogenated margarine
1 3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar, sifted if clumpy
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 to 3 tablespoons soy creamer or milk
1 to 2 teaspoons rosewater
Beat the shortening and margarine together until well combined and fluffy. Add the sugar and beat for about 3 more minutes. Add the vanilla, soy milk, and rosewater, beat for another 5 to 7 minutes until fluffy.
Frost the bottom layer of the cake, sprinkle chopped pistachios before putting on second layer, and frost the rest of the cake. Sprinkle/press pistachios around the outside of the cake, and sprinkle with light pink or peach crystals if desired. And there you have it.
12 responses »

  1. If you are interested in buying a designer handbag thomas sabo charm club anhänger you’ll need to visit a retailer who sells them. thomas sabo engelsflügel These are generally specialty boutiques. thomas sabo armband Another venue for purchasing designer ladies handbags anhänger kette is from online retailers. There are many websites angebote thomas sabo ohrschmuck that sell brand name designer ladies handbags and will ship ohrringe creolen them right to your door. This often affords the consumer angebote thomas sabo uhren the biggest selection and it also allows a chance to Armband mit Anhänger compare prices. It’s important to be careful when purchasing a quality thomas sabo shop designer bag in this way because you’ll want to be wary of imitations.

  2. Thanks for posting this recipe. The cake looks awesome.I was not looking for a vegan recipe, and I was wondering if I can directly replace soy ingredients with regular milk/yogurt or would the proportions change ?On similar lines, can I use veg oil instead of canola oil?

  3. I made this yesterday, but instead of two six inch pans, I used a 3 cup bundt, and a little round springform. They both turned out beautifully! I used coconut oil instead of shortening in the frosting, and I didn't add any soy milk to the frosting (it was perfect). The cakes were a big hit at my luncheon. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

