The Kitchn and other neat stuff…

Standard

First of all, have I ever expressed my love for The Kitchn? Man oh man they know the way to my heart. I would love to work for them and be one of the firsts to find all of the great things they get their hands on. Most days I find myself opening link after link and being like wow, they pretty much rock overall. Today I found a few great recipes for sweet potatoes (I actually have made and re-created the breakfast recipe with kabocha/buttercup squash many times last week… plain yogurt drizzled with a little agave nectar, a few dashes of cinnamon and cardamom, and if you want to have more of a dinner type dish add cilantro! SUPER YUM!). The Sweet Potato Bread Pudding is also something I will be making when fall comes around. And also, this looks to die for. A grilled peanut butter cup banana marshmallow sandwich? Sprinkled with powdered sugar? Oh my goodness I just about died and went to heaven.

Here are a few great things I found today:
Eggplant Caponata Sandwich

Apricots with Candied Rosemary Walnuts and Cream

This cool menu to have when you watch Blues Brothers. I so want to have a Blues Brothers party!

What to do with unripe fruit. Poach it in some wine!

A faux wood chocolate transfer for cakes! I totally had this idea first. Well, my faux wood cake is going to be a little bit different, but this blows my mind. I already ordered a transfer for $8.

-Get a load of this awesome cake. It’s a piano being played by a panda bear! I wanna make it. Check out this lady’s other awesome cake creations!

-ReadyMade magazine has a how-to on making faux-wood grain textured walls. Um, I’m pretty sure I’m going to do this to my future house throughout every room. All I need to do is buy a wood graining rocker.

My bedding from West Elm shipped today! I haven’t opened the box yet. I’m leaving the excitement for tomorrow. I have many recipes and photos to share, just need to find the time!

Leave a Reply

