The Best Damn Vegan Chocolate Cake You’ll Ever Eat In Your Life (Plus More Concoctions…)

Standard

I have been quite the cook in the kitchen the past 24 hours in this household of mine. Last night I made the Georgia Peach Chicken Sandwiches for my dad and I and they turned out quite good. Simple and (relatively) easy to prepare. I don’t cook with meat that often so I had to be more aware of the cross-contamination issue with the chicken. Basically it was just coating the chicken in buttermilk, chopped pecans (thank goodness I finally got a food processor!) and bread crumbs and frying it and slapping it on a burger bun with mayo, sweet relish, a few slices of peaches, and some lettuce. Delicious.


Since it’s been super freaking abnormally hot the past few days here and I was up hot all night tossing in turning, I definitely needed something other than a cold shower to start my day off right today. An acai bowl was the only cold and yummy breakfast-like thing that I could think of. Blended some plain yogurt with half a packet of acai and sliced some strawberries, banana, and topped it with my homemade peanut butter granola and some blueberries. It hit the spot.


Once it cooled down a little this afternoon I wanted to bake. Something chocolatey. So I thought why not try making another cake (the one that turned out before) and seeing how that goes. So I made “Wolffie’s Cocoa Cake with Chocolate Fudgey Frosting” from La Dolce Vegan! and added a little peanut butter into the mix.

Wolffie’s Cocoa Cake with Chocolate Fudgey (Peanut Butter) Frosting from La Dolce Vegan!

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 1/2 cups flour
1 3/4 cups sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup soft or silken tofu
1 cup soymilk
1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup oil
1/2 cup water
Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly oil two 8-inch round cake pans and set aside. In a large bowl, whisk together the cocoa powder, flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. In a food processor, blend the tofu, soymilk, vinegar, vanilla, and oil until smooth. Pour into bowl along with the water and stir together well. Spread evenly between the two cake pans and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick or knife comes out clean. Let cool for 10-15 minutes before removing from pan. Cool completely before frosting. Makes 1 cake.
In the meantime, you make the frosting:
1 1/2 cups water
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups sugar (I only used 1 cup)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 cup vegan margarine (I used less)
a spoonful of peanut butter
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
In a medium saucepan, whisk together the water, cocoa powder, sugar, salt, and cornstarch. Slowly bring to a boil, whisking constantly for 3-4 minutes to avoid sticking. Once it starts to thicken, remove from heat and stir in margarine, peanut butter, and vanilla. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour before frosting cake, blend frosting in food processor to make it smoother if you need to. Makes approx. 2 cups.
And as for my dinner, I whipped up a simple veggie spaghetti dinner. I bought some frozen vegetarian meatballs at Trader Joe’s recently (which are great) and have been using them for meatball sandwiches. Tonight I sauteed some eggplant, zucchini, and a portobello mushroom in a pan, cooked some Ezekiel whole grain pasta, baked the meatballs for a little bit, and dumped it all together with some marinara sauce and some petit basque cheese and some parmesean. Super good!


Phew! I think I’ve had my fill of cooking and baking this weekend. I think I’ll be set for a little while. It always feels so nice to bake, especially when it turns out alright! Bake the cake if you have a chance. You won’t regret it.

6 responses »

  1. Those meatballs from TJ’s are DAMN good! I remember when I bought them, the checker said, “You know those are vegetarian, right”. I just smiled back and responded, “Yup, that’s why I’m buying them!” Hopefully he went home and bought them himself too!

Leave a Reply

