A Big Catch-Up Post

Standard

Wow, has it been a while. I’ve been quite busy the past two weeks, finishing up with school and finals and busy running here and there. Last weekend I embarked on a 3 day 33 mile backpacking excursion and that was challenging but rewarding. I did pretty well and am proud of myself for making it through because it wasn’t easy, I’ll tell ya. Backpacking isn’t for wimps. Most of the time I was fighting my mind telling me to “Stop! Give up! This is ridiculous! Call someone to give you a ride home!” half way through the ordeal, but I pushed through. It was nice to live and sleep in the woods for a few days. The “backpacking food” isn’t really that bad if you plan it all well. It forces you to be very creative. Weight and size and perishables are the main issues. Luckily we did pretty good. Here are a few pictures to share with you:










Other than that, I’ve started summer school (organic chemistry) and that plus work will be taking up the bulk of my time for the next few weeks. I’ve finally gotten into an eBay addition–CathrineHolm enamel kitchen wear and Franciscan Starburst dining ware. It had to happen at some point, right? I guess the whole eBay obsession has to be inevitable for everyone at some point in their lives. So far I’ve scored these great beauties:



Plus an olive green CathrineHolm baking pan. I’m super excited about starting my collection of vintage kitchen wear for my future home. Might as well start collecting it all now!



And most importantly, as far as baking goes, I’ve come out with some pretty interesting products the past few weeks. I finally had my first disaster cake fall to pieces:



It was supposed to be a Vegan Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting, inspired by Kristin’s post a few weeks ago. Yeah, didn’t really turn out that great. I was all ready to get baking (on a hot, hot 90 degree day, mind you) when I hesitated and considered making the great vegan chocolate cake that I had made previously from La Dolce Vegan!, aka. Wolffie’s Cocoa Cake with Chocolate Fudgey Frosting. Now THAT is the kind of vegan chocolate cake I’m talkin’ about. Seriously, THE BEST. It calls for tofu in the recipe which I’m sure makes a huge difference. So anyways, the point I’m trying to make is that I didn’t listen to my baking intuition and it all went wrong. I was trying to branch out and give something else a try but no, it bit me in the ass. Guess I learned my lesson. As for the peanut butter frosting, that was pretty good, really on the sugary side. I honestly didn’t even eat the cake though, I was so disappointed. I have yet to find the perfect vegan peanut butter frosting recipe (something REALLY peanut butter-y) so if anyone could help me out that would be awesome!

That day I also made Vegan Peanut Butter Banana Cookies with chopped up Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and a little Kahlua. Those turned out dry and disappointing too.


I’m telling ya, the stars just weren’t aligned for my baking extravaganza that day. To top it all off, as I was taking the cookies out of the oven, the cookie sheet burned through the oven mitt and gave me a little blister on my thumb. The good news is is that I have a new cutesy apron to bake (and cook) in now thanks to my stepmom!

Ever since this was posted the other day, I was inspired to come up with a new, more weighted version of the Vegan Peanut Butter Oreo Cupcakes. Since the criteria is based on how much peanut butter is actually in the recipe, I needed to up the ante a little bit with a peanut butter frosting instead of a chocolate frosting. Therefore, I tried it out:




The cupcake portion turned out even better than usual (I think it was my friends’ oven) but the peanut butter frosting would have been so much better if we had used a different peanut butter! To me, personally, since I am a peanut butter enthusiast and love the Hello! Peanut butter! taste, it was a bit disappointing. The frosting didn’t taste like anything to me. All I could taste was oil and fat. So anyways, the idea was great, and I’ll try making them again, the only problem was the peanut butter.

I’ll leave you with a recipe from How It All Vegan! that I made the other night: Sweet Potato Corn Bread. Cornbread has to be one of my favorite foods of all time. I’ve loved it all my life. I could live off of it if I had to. On my list of future things to bake is peanut butter cornbread at some point. Anyways, I had it with refried beans, avocado, and a kale mushroom stir fry with gomasio seasoning. Super yummy, quick and easy meal.


Sweet Potato Corn Bread

1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp allspice
1/2 cup cornmeal
1 cup sweet potato, cooked and mashed (I used canned, pureed sweet potato)
4 Tbsp oil
1/4 cup sugar
2 Tbsp ground flax seed mixed in 6 Tbsp water
1/2 cup sour soy milk (soy milk + 1/2 Tbsp vinegar)
Preheat oven to 375 F. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and allspice. Stir in the cornmeal. Add the mashed sweet potatoes, oil, sweetener, egg replacer, and sour milk. Mix together gently until just mixed. Spoon into a lightly oiled square or round loaf pan and bake for 30 minutes. Test with a knife to see if done. Makes 1 loaf. 
2 responses »

  1. I’ve had days like that too where nothing I bake turns out… it’s really frustrating. I was doing some Christmas baking and remember throwing out at least 4 desserts. Such a shame!

  2. I love the look of those cupcakes, and the original ones look absolutely deadly. Perhaps the old frosting with the new cupcake? If nothing else, you’ve gotta enter the old recipe into the exhibition! I almost forgot…I’m requiring everyone to mail me a cupcake for judging =). If only….As for peanut butter cornbread, I know you saw my recipe for it a little while ago, let me know if you make any improvements on it! I’ve always wanted to try cornbread with sweet potatoes, that’ll be my next step.

Leave a Reply

