Farmers Market Goodness

Standard

So I know I’ve been a little MIA lately, but that’s due to the fact that I’m finishing up my spring semester and have been studying like crazy for finals. I’m pretty sure I’ll get around to updating this thing more often once summer rolls around. Well, maybe the second half of summer. It’s so easy to be lazy with this thing…

Anyhow, today I finally got to go to the (first summer) farmers market downtown which is always exciting. All of the best fruit is now in season and beginning to taste sweeter and sweeter every week! The organic strawberries have been absolutely breathtaking the past few weeks… the best I’ve ever tasted in my life, no joke. Same goes for the blueberries. Peaches aren’t quite there yet, but the apricots seem to be at their peak right now. Oh, and the cherries! I can’t get enough. Every morning I’ve been having the same breakfast which probably isn’t the best, but I can’t resist the sweet goodness of the strawberries and blueberries and raspberries in my yogurt and granola. That always seems to be my regular breakfast during this time of year. Such an easy habit to get into. We ended up purchasing: chard, apricots, green beans, yellow cauliflower, squaw bread (my favorite bread! it’s always so hard to find… I’m super excited), cherries, dried fruits and nuts, sweet onions, roasted garlic, fresh pasta, lettuce, and some freshly homemade bleu cheese salsa sauce that you can use on pretty much anything. I used to despise bleu cheese but this is super yummy and isn’t too strong. It’s great on pasta and chicken sandwiches.


We are so fortunate to have farmers markets around here. I love taking advantage of it as much as I can. I even enjoy just walking around and smelling the sweetness in the air and taking pictures every now and then. In fact, I’ll post some that I’ve taken in the past…






There are so many lovely things. Flowers, Indian food, pakoras, vegan food from Cafe La Vie, fresh mexican burritos, jam and pastries from Frog Hollow Farm, tofu concoctions, spiced almonds, and so much more. It’s such a treat!

I’ll update more later with my latest baked goods and other things I’ve made recently. Now I’m off to my last final for the semester!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

